"Healing Through Faith" with Warriors for Life (WFL) - "He Must Increase, But I Must Decrease."

Updated: May 25

Come join Veteran SGT Steve McFarland TONIGHT's "Healing Through Faith" addition of Warriors for Life (WFL) Virtual Group Support Community Services.

"He Must Increase, But I Must Decrease."

TONIGHT's Topic: "He Must Increase, But I Must Decrease."


Say what? That statement, from the lips of John the Baptist, runs entirely counter to our natural inclination. We are naturally competitive and relentless self-promoters, so placing ourself below someone else isn't in the cards. We collect accolades and titles like they are trophies, demonstrating how great we are. We would be the first to raise our hands to volunteer to be on the planning committee for that greatest monument to humanity, the Tower of Babel. Notice their purpose statement:

They said, “Come, let us build for ourselves a city, and a tower whose top will reach into heaven, and let us make for ourselves a name, otherwise we will be scattered abroad over the face of the whole earth.” (Genesis 11:4), but John the Baptist was different.




As we will see, the reason for Jesus' increase was not merely because He held a higher office than John. It is not that John the Baptist and Jesus were both mere men holding offices or roles that differed in rank, although Jesus' office as Messiah was indeed greater than John's role as the Messiah's forerunner. Instead, Jesus had to increase in the eyes of others because He is God incarnate.


Even though John the Baptist was the last of the Old Testament prophets, and his coming had been anticipated for hundreds of years, as we see from the passage, he didn't have a big-head. In fact, he could have written "Humility 101". He knew that, in the grand scheme of things, he was a "nobody".


John knew the source of his authority to minister, but he also understood the limits of his ministry. He had come as the forerunner for the Messiah, and once Jesus was on the scene, his job was done. His tenure was about to end, so it was time for him to fade out of sight. (John 3:22-36)


Warriors for Life Healing Through Faith – Tuesday (TONIGHT), 12 May 2020 at 4:30 PM PT, 5:30 PM MT, 6:30 PM CT, and 7:30 PM ET


Dial in 5-10 minutes early to test your communications!


Veteran SGT Steve McFarland will be the Host TONIGHT and is inviting you to a RingCentral meeting.


Join from PC, Mac, iOS or Android: https://meetings.ringcentral.com/j/4623907474


Or iPhone one-tap (US Toll):

+1(773) 231 9226,,4623907474#


Or Telephone: Dial:

+1 (773) 231 9226 (US Toll)


Meeting ID: 462 390 7474


Thanks,


Steve McFarland


"Healing Through Faith!"

©2019 Victory For Veterans

Provided by Global2Smart.com