WFL - Healing Through Faith - "Daniel In The Lion's Den - Be Careful What You Wish For..."

Join Veteran SGT Steve McFarland Tuesday, 22 October 2019 for Warriors for Life (WFL) Virtual Group Support - Healing Through Faith!


Tuesday's Presentation & Topic: "Daniel In The Lion's Den - Be Careful What You Wish For..."


Daniel in the Lion's Den!

We are going to conclude our odyssey in Daniel by looking at one of the best-known stories in the Bible, "Daniel In The Lion's Den", with a twist. While the main focus of the story seems to be Daniel's miraculous rescue from several hungry lions, there is a lesson to be learned from the fate of those who conspired against Daniel, thus the sub-title, "Be Careful What You Wish For".


After the fall of the Babylonian empire under Belshazzar, the Medo-Persian empire took its place. It is unknown exactly who Darius was, because he isn't mentioned in other historical sources outside the Bible. Like the Babylonian empire that preceeded it, the Medo-Persian empire was divided into provinces, with local administrators in charge of each area. Daniel and his three friends had been promoted to high government offices by Nebuchadnezzar back in Daniel 2:46-49.


Daniel was one of the provincial governors under Darius, which made other government officials jealous, so they started plotting a way to take him down. Unfortunately for them, their plan backfired catastrophically.


Daniel was a holdover from the previous empire, and the new king was impressed enough with him to give him a high-level position in the kingdom. Some people were jealous of him, and they tried to find a way to entrap him. To make matters worse, Daniel was a "foreigner", a Jew, with strange customs who worshipped a strange God. There was something wrong with that picture...


Darius was stuck between a rock and a hard-place, and he knew it. The "Law of the Medes and Persians" didn't even allow the king to rescind his own decree, and Daniel's detractors weren't backing down.


We naturally have a jealous-streak a mile long, and we don't like it when someone else succeeds and we don't, or they get that promotion we thought WE deserved, but if we aren't careful...


NEW TIMES

Warriors for Life Healing Through Faith – Tuesday, 22 October 2019 at

7:30 PM ET, (6:30 PM CT), 5:30 PM MT, & 4:30 PM PT


Dial in 5-10 minutes early to test your communications!


Veteran SGT Steve McFarland will be the Host this Tuesday evening and is inviting you to a RingCentral meeting.


Join from PC, Mac, iOS or Android: https://meetings.ringcentral.com/j/4623907474


Or iPhone one-tap (US Toll): +1(773)2319226,,4623907474#


Or Telephone:


Dial: +1 (773) 231 9226 (US Toll)


Meeting ID: 462 390 7474


Thanks,


Steve McFarland

0 views

©2019 Victory For Veterans

Provided by Global2Smart.com