TONIGHT Warriors for Life (WFL) - "The Psychological Benefits of Myth."

Updated: Jul 19

Please join Warriors For Life (WFL) TONIGHT with your host Veteran, Mental Health Counselor, and Jungian Psychotherapist PO3 Christopher St. John as he explores the different benefits of Psychology.


Invite a Friend, tell a friend, and share with your friends!


Get connected with Veterans, Service Members, First Responders, and Caretakers every Sunday Night!

"The Psychological Benefits of Myth."

TONIGHT's Topic: "The Psychological Benefits of Myth."


Myths contain truths that show us how the mind works.


Myths guide and carry us through the various stages of our lives and help us to understand the outer world and the inner self.  The ultimate value of the myths is what they can tell us about us, how they can help us with our own lives. 


Even the word psychology comes from classical mythology.  Psyche means “soul” or “breath of life” (ology refer to an area of study).  So while we think of psychology as the study of the mind, in a larger, mythic meaning, psychology means the study of what make us human, the study of the deepest cores of our selves.  In fact, myths centering on human behavior, such as preferred learning styles, environmental effects, causes of violence, and chemical imbalances have fueled the study of psychology and turned it from a pseudoscience – referred to as “folk psychology” – to one that is based on the scientific method.  Through vigorous academic research, psychologists often find that there is some truth to behavior-based myths; however, there are also many limitations to them as well.  For example, the theory that mental disorders are caused by chemical imbalances in the brain is true for some disorders, but not for all.   


Psychologists examine myths and stories from history in order to better understand not only our past, but our future behavior.


Tune in TONIGHT with Chris Sunday evening and explore the benefits of "myths" and their psychololgoical benefits.


Warriors for Life Group Support Community Service - Sunday (TONIGHT), 19 July 2020 at 4:30 PM PT, 5:30 PM MT, 6:30 PM CT, and 7:30 PM ET


Dial in 5-10 minutes early to test your communications!


Veteran, Mental Health Counselor, and Jungian Psychotherapist PO3 Christopher St. John will be your host TONIGHT and is inviting you to a RingCentral meeting.


Join from PC, Mac, iOS or Android: https://meetings.ringcentral.com/j/4357174198


Or iPhone one-tap (US Toll):

+1(773)2319226,, 4357174198#


Or Telephone: Dial:

+1 (773) 231 9226 (US Toll)


Meeting ID: 435-717-4198


Thanks,


PO3 Christopher St. John

"Respect Always - Warriors for Life!"

©2019 Victory For Veterans

Provided by Global2Smart.com