"Healing Through Faith" — "Passover" — Warriors for Life (WFL)

With the continued "Stay at Home" orders due to COVID-19 around the nation, this is a wonderful time to come and join Veteran SGT Steve McFarland for Tuesday night's "Healing Through Faith" addition of Warriors for Life (WFL) Virtual Group Support Community Services brought to you by Victory for Veterans (VFV).

"Healing Through Faith" — "Passover"

Tuesday's Topic: "Passover"


Passover, the scene of our next event in the life of Christ, was one of the most important festivals on the Jew’s religious calendar. It commemorated when the Jews were released from their bondage in Egypt, and is also known as the “Feast of unleavened-bread“. So, we are going to take another side-trip into the Old Testament to look at this historical-event and why the Jews continued to celebrate it. It is also worth noting that Jesus was three years from the cross at this point in time.

After many decades of slavery to the Egyptian pharaohs, during which time the Israelites were subjected to backbreaking labor and unbearable horrors, God saw the people’s distress and sent Moses to Pharaoh with a message: “Send forth My people, so that they may serve Me.” But despite numerous warnings, Pharaoh refused to heed God’s command. God then sent upon Egypt ten devastating plagues, afflicting them and destroying everything from their livestock to their crops.


At the stroke of midnight of 15 Nissan in the year 2448 from creation (1313 BCE), God visited the last of the ten plagues on the Egyptians, killing all their firstborn. While doing so, God spared the children of Israel, “passing over” their homes—hence the name of the holiday. Pharaoh’s resistance was broken, and he virtually chased his former slaves out of the land. The Israelites left in such a hurry, in fact, that the bread they baked as provisions for the way did not have time to rise. Six hundred thousand adult males, plus many more women and children, left Egypt on that day and began the trek to Mount Sinai and their birth as God’s chosen people.


In ancient times the Passover observance included the sacrifice of the paschal lamb, which was roasted and eaten at the Seder on the first night of the holiday. This was the case until the Temple in Jerusalem was destroyed in the 1st century.


Warriors for Life Healing Through Faith – Tuesday (Tonight), 7 April 2020 at 4:30 PM PT, 5:30 PM MT, 6:30 PM CT, and 7:30 PM ET


Dial in 5-10 minutes early to test your communications!


Veteran SGT Steve McFarland will be the Host Tuesday night and is inviting you to a RingCentral meeting.


Join from PC, Mac, iOS or Android: https://meetings.ringcentral.com/j/4623907474


Or iPhone one-tap (US Toll):

+1(773)2319226,,4623907474#


Or Telephone: Dial:

+1 (773) 231 9226 (US Toll)


Meeting ID: 462 390 7474


Thanks,


Steve McFarland

14 views0 comments